period preclude the identification of any consistent trends. One manslaughter incident in 1980 culminated in the death of 48 victims and caused a dramatic rise in both the number of manslaughter offences and corresponding rate for that year.

## 20.4.3 Police forces

**Organization of police forces.** Police forces of Canada are organized in three groups:

(1) federal, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police;

(2) provincial — Ontario and Quebec have their own police forces; the RCMP provide provincial policing services under contract to all the other provinces and the two territories. The Royal Newfoundland Constabulary shares provincial policing with the RCMP in Newfoundland. The New Brunswick Highway Patrol provides specialized traffic enforcement services to complement the provincial policing provided by the RCMP in New Brunswick; and

(3) municipal police forces — most urban centres have their own police forces, or provincial police under contract, to attend to police matters.

In addition, the Canadian National Railways, the Canadian Pacific Railway Company and Ports Canada have their own police forces.

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP). This is a civil force maintained by the federal government. It was established in 1873 as the North-West Mounted Police and was granted the prefix Royal by King Edward VII in 1904. Its sphere of operations was expanded in 1918 to include all of Canada west of Port Arthur and Fort William (now Thunder Bay). In 1920 it absorbed the Dominion Police, its headquarters was transferred from Regina to Ottawa and its title changed to Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

The force operates under authority of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Act (RSC 1970, c.R-9). It is responsible to the Solicitor General and is controlled and managed by a Commissioner who holds the rank and status of a Deputy Minister and is empowered to appoint members to be peace officers in all provinces and territories.

Administration of justice in the provinces, including enforcement of the Criminal Code of Canada, is part of the power and duty delegated to the provincial governments. All provinces except Ontario and Quebec have contracts with the RCMP to enforce criminal and provincial laws, under direction of the respective attorneys general or solicitors general. In these eight provinces, the force provides police services to 191 municipalities, assuming enforcement responsibility of municipal as well as criminal and provincial laws. Yukon and Northwest Territories are policed exclusively by the RCMP, meaning that criminal offences, federal statutes and all ordinances of the territories fall within RCMP responsibility. The force maintains liaison officers in London, Paris, Bonn, Rome, Hong Kong, Washington, Sydney, Vienna, Buenos Aires, Brussels, Santiago, Bogota, New Delhi, Abidjan, Tel Aviv, Kingston, Tokyo, Nairobi, Beirut, Mexico City, The Hague, Lima, Manila, Stockholm, Berne, Bangkok and Port of Spain, and represents Canada in the International Criminal Police Organization with headquarters in Paris.

The force has 13 operational divisions across Canada: they comprise two districts and 48 subdivisions which include 716 detachments. The headquarters division, as well as the office of the commissioner, is in Ottawa. Divisional headquarters, for the most part, are located in provincial or territorial capitals.

A national police information centre at RCMP headquarters is staffed and operated by the force. Law enforcement agencies throughout Canada have access via remote terminals to information on stolen vehicles, licences, wanted persons and stolen property.

The RCMP operates the Canadian Police College at which force members and selected representatives of other Canadian and foreign forces may study crime prevention and detection.

As of December 31, 1985 the force had a total personnel strength of 19,629 including regular members, special constables, civilian members and public service employees.

**Ontario Provincial Police (OPP)**, a Crown force, is the third largest deployed force in North America, with a strength of 4,345 (1985) uniformed and civilian personnel.

The force operates under the ministry of the Solicitor General for Ontario and is administered by a commissioner from general headquarters at Toronto. Operational and administrative responsibility is maintained by three deputy commissioners in the areas of field, investigations and administration. At the next level, chief superintendents administer seven divisions: field operations, field support, investigation, investigation support, personnel management, supply and planning, and technology.